Do we really need a God?

Do we really need a God?

Let me guess. The first assumption of you guys might be that I’m definitely an atheist. So let me clarify again.

I’m not asking on whether God exists or not. We are not discussing that here. Let’s not talk about religions and atheism. Let’s move away from this whole drama of senseless bickering.

Let us just think for a silent minute.

Do we really need a God?

Try to recall the last successful thing you achieved by doing nothing except praying to your God.

Try to remember the last time a disease was cured by stopping treatment and only praying to God.

Try to imagine a world where everyone walks on the street blindfolded, relying solely on God’s good mood to save themselves from an accident.

When was the last time you felt thirsty and praying to God quenched your thirst?

When was the last time you felt hungry and praying to God satisfied your hunger?

When was the last time you desired a child and were blessed with a baby born to you or your spouse, without resorting to intercourse or any other means of reproduction?

When was the last time the dead came back to life?

I hear this lament all of the time, sometimes it even comes from my own lips, “Why doesn’t God help me in my troubles?”

Because what you are, what you do and what you achieve is not decided by the whims of a supernatural almighty God.

You succeed, survive, escape, prosper and most importantly, live because of yourself.

It is with this thought in mind that I beseech you.

Let’s just think for a silent minute.

Do we really need a God?

4 thoughts on “Do we really need a God?”

  1. Love how you question the facts we take for granted.

    Although I don’t quite agree with you on this. 😛

  2. You did it again man, you did it again! 😉
    Really loved the way of presentation of it.

    BUT…
    This time, as I doubt many are already telling you, I too beg to disagree with what you have tried to say in this.
    I really believe we need God! 🙂

  3. Yes we do indeed…god resides in the power of your will..otherwise we would have been some useless organisms living to avoid death only…

Leave a comment